ROPPA

West African farmer organisations dealing with a new decision-making sphere

As in many regions in the world, policies are more and more based on a supranational level, the regional level in West Africa. Mainly for historical reasons, West Africa has 2 regional decision-making spheres: the ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) and the UEMOA (West African Economic and Monetary Union), which have very important skills in terms of farming.

In this respect, in 2000, they decided to create the Network of Farmers and Agricultural Producers’ Organisations from West Africa (ROPPA) currently composed of 12 national member platforms. They created it to defend the viewpoints of national farmer organisations.

SOS Faim and the ROPPA

Since its creation in 2000, SOS Faim has supported the ROPPA financially by giving it the opportunity to organise and structure itself at regional level and  defend farmers’ challenges. By being quickly famous internationally, the ROPPA benefited from financial supports related to its ambitions that enabled SOS Faim withdrawal.

Since 2009, SOS Faim has become involved in a common advocacy with several West African farmer platforms and the ROPPA. This advocacy, mainly directed to European and African members of Parliament, aims at giving concrete expression to the farmer organisations’ vision of farming.

The ROPPA, key player in West Africa

In addition to an international recognition giving access to significant funding, the main result obtained by the ROPPA was the adoption by West Africa of an agricultural policy in line with its expectations.

Future expectations

With a regional agricultural policy in line with its expectations, the ROPPA will now have to pursue its advocacy in order to implement these policies with budgets corresponding to the planned goals. SOS Faim will carry on with its commitment in a common advocacy with national platforms and the ROPPA.

For more information 

Roppa

Le ROPPA, la voix commune des paysans ouest africains

Les organisations paysannes ouest-africaines face à un nouvel espace de décision

Comme dans de nombreuses régions du monde, en Afrique de l’Ouest les politiques se construisent de plus en plus à un niveau supranational, le niveau régional. L’Afrique de l’Ouest a, pour des raisons essentiellement historiques, 2 espaces décisionnels régionaux : la CEDEAO (la Communauté économique des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest) et l’UEMOA (l’Union économique et monétaire ouest-africaine), qui possèdent l’un et l’autre des compétences importantes en matière d’agriculture.

C’est pour pouvoir défendre les points de vue des organisations paysannes nationales à ces niveaux de pouvoir, qu’en 2000, ces dernières ont créé le Réseau des organisations paysannes et de producteurs d’Afrique de l’Ouest, le ROPPA, qui compte actuellement 12 plates-formes nationales membres.

SOS Faim et le ROPPA

Dès sa création en 2000, le SOS Faim a apporté un soutien financier au ROPPA, lui permettant de s’organiser et de se structurer au plan régional et de défendre la cause des paysannes et des paysans. Ayant rapidement acquis une notoriété internationale, le ROPPA a bénéficié ensuite d’appuis financiers à la hauteur de ses ambitions, ce qui a permis à SOS Faim de se désengager sur ce plan.

Depuis 2009, SOS Faim s’est engagée dans un plaidoyer conjoint avec plusieurs plates-formes paysannes ouest-africaines et le ROPPA. Ce plaidoyer, essentiellement adressé aux parlementaires européens et africains, vise à concrétiser, dans les politiques et leur mise en œuvre, la vision de l’agriculture des organisations paysannes.

Le ROPPA, incontournable en Afrique de l’Ouest

Outre la reconnaissance au plan international lui ayant donné accès à des financements importants, le principal résultat obtenu par le ROPPA a été l’adoption par l’Afrique de l’Ouest d’une politique agricole qui a intégré ses principales revendications.

Quelles perspectives ?

Ayant obtenu la fixation d’une politique agricole régionale conforme à ses attentes, il s’agit maintenant pour le ROPPA de poursuivre son plaidoyer afin que ces politiques soient mises en œuvre avec des budgets correspondants aux objectifs qui ont été fixés. SOS Faim poursuivra son engagement dans un plaidoyer commun avec les plates-formes nationales et le ROPPA dans ce sens.

Pour en savoir plus

Roppa