Mali

Agriculture and food security in Mali

Facing a succession of political, economic and food crises along with conflicts, the population of Mali is one of the most vulnerable and poorest in the world.  Food security is a priority in Mali.

The agricultural sector occupies 75% of the population but contributes only approximately 40% of the country’s GDP. This shows the poor performance of agricultural activities, the main cause of poverty.

Mali’s agricultural potential is colossal and could contribute greatly to the fight against hunger but this potential is unfortunately not exploited as well as it could be due to a lack of technical and organisational capacities and above all a lack of resources.

inner-mali

SOS Faim’s action in Mali

SOS Faim has supported family farming in Mali since 1987. We work with farmers’ organisations and microfinance institutions to improve the services they offer small farmers. We support primarily two agricultural value chains: cereals (especially rice) and market gardening, mainly within the Office du Niger zone.

SOS Faim supports eight local partners
This support benefits 92,000 farmers
SOS Faim invested €870,934 in 2014 to fight hunger in Mali

Our partners in Mali

mali

Microfinance institution

Farmers’ organisations

Mali

Agriculture et sécurité alimentaire au Mali

Faisant successivement face à des crises politiques, économiques, alimentaires ainsi qu’à des conflits, la population malienne est des plus vulnérables et une des plus pauvres au monde. La sécurité alimentaire est prioritaire au Mali.

Le secteur agricole occupe 75% de la population mais ne contribue qu’à environ 40% du PIB du pays. Ceci traduit les faibles performances de l’activité agricole, principale cause de pauvreté.

Le potentiel agricole du Mali est colossal et pourrait largement contribuer à la lutte contre la faim mais ce potentiel n’est malheureusement pas exploité comme il pourrait l’être, faute de capacités techniques et organisationnelles, mais surtout faute de moyens.

inner-mali

L’action de SOS Faim au Mali

SOS Faim soutient l’agriculture familiale au Mali depuis 1987. Nous collaborons avec des organisations paysannes et des institutions de microfinance afin d’améliorer les services qu’elles offrent aux petits producteurs. Nous soutenons principalement 2 filières agricoles : les céréales (en particulier le riz) et le maraîchage, principalement dans la zone de l’ Office du Niger.

SOS Faim soutient 8 partenaires locaux

Ce soutien bénéficie à 92 000 paysans

SOS Faim investit 615.349 € en 2016 pour lutter contre la faim au Mali

Nos partenaires au Mali

mali

Institution de microfinance

Organisations paysannes