Ecuador

Family farming in Ecuador

Although Ecuador is undergoing sustained economic growth, rural areas are still heavily affected by poverty and food insecurity. 70% of people living in poverty are in rural areas. Poverty affects women and indigenous peoples especially strongly.

In Ecuador, two agricultural models co-exist: export agriculture and family farming. This coexistence implies a major inequality in the distribution of production factors: 70% of farmers have only 10% of the land, and 60% of irrigation water is used by 1% of farmers.

inner-equateur

SOS Faim’s action in Ecuador

SOS Faim has supported family farming in Ecuador for more than 20 years in order to fight rural poverty and food insecurity. We work with a network of savings and credit cooperatives and a local NGO in order to improve the financial and marketing services provided by rural organisations for small family farms.

Our support is concentrated in the rural areas of six provinces (Esmeraldas, Napo, Guayas, Chimborazo, Manabí and Pichincha), which are hard-hit by poverty, but the network of cooperatives is national in scope.

SOS Faim supports two local partners

This support benefits 85,552 rural families

SOS Faim invested €479,426 in 2014 to fight hunger in Ecuador

Our partners in Ecuador

equateur

Savings and credit cooperative

  • CAAP Cooperativa Alternativa de Acción Popular

NGO

Équateur

L’agriculture familiale en Équateur

Bien que l’Équateur connaisse une croissance économique soutenue, les zones rurales restent fortement touchées par la pauvreté et l’insécurité alimentaire. 70% des personnes souffrant de la pauvreté vivent en milieu rural. La pauvreté touche particulièrement les femmes et les indigènes.

En Équateur, deux modèles agricoles coexistent : l’agriculture d’exportation et l’agriculture familiale. Cette coexistence implique une forte inégalité de la répartition des facteurs de production : 70% des producteurs disposent de seulement 10% des terres et 60% de l’eau d’irrigation sont utilisés par 1% des producteurs.

inner-equateur

L’action de SOS Faim en Équateur

Depuis plus de 20 ans, SOS Faim soutient l’agriculture familiale en Équateur afin de lutter contre la pauvreté et l’insécurité alimentaire en milieu rural. Nous collaborons avec un réseau de coopératives d’épargne-crédit ainsi qu’avec une ONG locale afin de renforcer les services financiers et les services de commercialisation fournis par les organisations rurales en faveur des petites exploitations familiales.

Notre soutien se concentre dans les zones rurales de 6 provinces (Esmeraldas, Napo, Guayas, Chimborazo, Manabí et Pichincha) particulièrement touchées par la pauvreté mais le réseau de coopératives a une portée nationale.

SOS Faim soutient 2 partenaires locaux

Ce soutien bénéficie à 85 552 familles rurales

SOS Faim investit 327.859 € en 2016 pour lutter contre la faim en Équateur

Nos partenaires en Équateur

equateur

Coopérative d’épargne et crédit

  • CAAP Cooperativa Alternativa de Acción Popular

ONG