Microfinance

Microfinance: What is it?

SOS Faim uses microfinance to fight extreme poverty, which causes hunger. Microfinance offers financial services to people who are locked out of the classic financial system to allow them to create or develop their own economic activities. We often hear about micro lending, but microfinance also includes savings, insurance and even money transfers. SOS Faim was the first Belgian NGO to support microfinance and one of the first to do so in Europe.

Microfinance as a weapon to fight poverty

Since 1987, SOS Faim has supported microfinance in Africa and Latin America to allow farmers to develop their agricultural activities in a sustainable manner. Although they could feed the world, the main victims of hunger and poverty are small farmers in the South. A lack of access to financing is a major constraint on the development of family farming. As traditional banks refuse to help farmers, microfinance has become a strong alternative in the rural and agricultural sector.

SOS Faim and microfinance

SOS Faim develops special partnerships with rural finance institutions close to farmers’ and rural producers’ organisations. The aim is to make suitable, sustainable and diverse financing that meets all family farming development needs available to farmers. Special attention is given to financing farm investments.

microfinance2

Micro lending: Women are fans!

Women have made micro lending a tool to aid economic and social emancipation, one that also allows them to feed their children properly and further their education. They are even favoured clients for many microfinance institutions. Excluded among the excluded, women demonstrate great respect for the opportunity that a loan can represent and systematically repay their loans better than men do.

Microfinance

La microfinance, c’est quoi ?

SOS Faim se bat contre l’extrême pauvreté, qui engendre la faim, notamment grâce à la microfinance. La microfinance offre des services financiers à des personnes exclues du système financier classique afin de leur permettre de créer ou de développer leur activité économique. On parle souvent de micro crédit, mais la microfinance inclut également l’épargne, l’assurance ou encore les transferts d’argent. SOS Faim fut la première ONG belge à soutenir la microfinance et une des premières au niveau européen.

La microfinance comme arme contre la pauvreté

Depuis 1987, SOS Faim soutient la microfinance en Afrique et en Amérique latine afin de permettre aux paysans de développer, de façon durable, leur activité agricole. Alors qu’ils pourraient nourrir le monde, les principales victimes de la faim et de la pauvreté sont les petits agriculteurs du Sud. Le manque d’accès au financement reste une contrainte majeure du développement des agricultures familiales. Les banques traditionnelles refusant d’aider les paysans, la microfinance devient une alternative forte pour le secteur rural et agricole.

SOS Faim et la microfinance

SOS Faim développe des partenariats privilégiés avec des institutions de financement rural proches des organisations paysannes et des producteurs ruraux. L’objectif est de mettre à disposition des producteurs des financements adaptés, pérennes et diversifiés qui répondent à l’ensemble des besoins pour développer les exploitations familiales. Une attention particulière est portée au financement des investissements dans les exploitations.

microfinance2

Micro crédits, les femmes en sont fans !

Les femmes ont fait du micro crédit un outil d’émancipation économique et sociale, leur permettant également de nourrir correctement leurs enfants et de favoriser leur éducation. Elles sont même les clientes privilégiées de nombreuses institutions de microfinance. Exclues parmi les exclus, les femmes se montrent très respectueuses de la chance que représente un crédit et remboursent toujours mieux que les hommes.