History

1964

Creation of SOS FAIM

On November 27th, 1964, the Belgian Committee for the campaign fighting Hunger (CBCF, in French le Comité Belge pour la Campagne contre la Faim) was created by several Belgian NGOs*. A few months later, it took the name of SOS Faim. It became the first pluralistic umbrella organisation founded in order to meet the United Nations’ call to fight hunger in the world, while African countries were experiencing serious periods of famine.

* Entraide et Fraternité, Corps européen des volontaires pour la paix, Entraide Socialiste, Coopération Technique Internationale (ITECO), Compagnons Bâtisseurs, Groupement Social Féminin Libéral, Ieder voor Allen, Service Civil International (SCI), UCOD (University Clearing Office for the Developing Countries)

1966

Creation of the CNCD

In April 1966, the National Centre of Cooperation and Development was created by SOS Faim and other Belgian associations. Nowadays, it is aknowledged as the umbrella organisation of the 11.11.11 campaign.

By gathering these young associations and Belgian NGOs, the aim was to improve the relations between North and South as well as to promote synergies between different actors of the NGO movement in Belgium.

Today, the CNCD consists of 90 French-speaking and German-speaking groups as well as development NGOs.

1983

Status change

Until then, SOS Faim/SOS Honger was a unitary organisation at national level, but it split into two different associations: SOS Faim/SOS Hunger for the French-speaking and German-speaking part, and SOS Honger for the Dutch-speaking part.

1987

Support to microfinance

In 1987, SOS Faim became the first Belgian NGO and one of the first in Europe to support microfinance in order to help marginalised farmers develop an economic activity to fight poverty. SOS Faim currently supports 11 microfinance institutions (IMF) or networks of IMFs that help 600,000 farmers in Africa and in Latin America.

For more information, visit our webpage related to microfinance.

1991

Défis Sud, first publication

Since 1991, SOS Faim publishes Défis Sud 6 times a year. This magazine focuses on rural development issues and southern actors give their opinion on social, political and economic aspects concerning farming in their regions.

 

1992

Expansion

In 1992, SOS Faim invited representatives of associations and the Southern civil society to its General Assembly. This was a significant step towards a new approach of “support to partners”. Indeed, the southern beneficiaries – that became “partners”- developed by themselves.

1993

SOS Faim gets more importance

SOS Faim supported Luxemburg’s initiative to create an association sharing the same values. SOS Faim Luxemburg was born in 1993 with the help of the Belgian NGO. Even though development cooperation in Luxemburg was booming at that time, no NGO showed a real interest for microfinance or for supporting farmers’ organisations.

Read SOS Faim Luxembourg website.

1996

New priorities

SOS Faim has supported the rural development for a long time but, in 1996, it started to focus on agricultural and rural areas, which are still our priorities today. A clear geographical concentration resulted from this new emphasis.

1998

Couleur Lomé

SOS Faim’s first advocacy campaign!

SOS Faim and its partners met in Cameroun and then in Brussels to raise awareness among farmers concerning the potential impacts due to a renegotiation of the relations between the EU and the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP). These relations were governed by the “Lomé Agreement”.

“We must bring Lomé into light!” will become the motto of farmers’ organisations after their meeting with European Authorities. Since this campaign, these relations are carefully followed by farmers’ organisations.

2000

Two new publications

In 2000, SOS Faim launches two new publications: Zoom microfinance and Farming Dynamics.

Zoom microfinance starts from a real experience as a basis in order to raise fundamental questions and debate about the impacts of microfinance on development in the South.

Farming Dynamics points out the initiatives from farmers’ organisations concerning their various roles. Moreover, it analyses and discusses them.

2002

Coalition against Hunger

SOS Faim took actively part in the creation of a coalition against Hunger, made to gather all the Belgian NGOs supporting farming and the Southern farmers’ organisations. On the one hand, this Coalition is composed of 19 organisations and promotes support to sustainable family farming in Belgium. On the other hand, it also acknowledges farmers’ organisations as key actors to determine agricultural policies, set them up and evaluate them.

The principle of “coherent development policies”, especially regarding support to agriculture in the South, is actively promoted and disseminated by the Coalition.

 

2004

“Mon poulet, ma poule”

“Mon poulet, ma poule”

In 2003, Europe exported at low prices more than 182,000 frozen chickens to Africa. Due to these massive imports, hundreds of thousands of Africans lost their jobs and left without any resources.

In 2004, SOS Faim and other European organisations launched the campaign “Mon poulet, ma poule” (halt to frozen chicken) to fight against these imports at low prices. 62,484 petitions were signed, with 11,000 in Belgium only.

 

FOGAL’s creation

FOGAL’s creation

Together with la Florida and CEPESIU, SOS Faim created the Credit Guarantee Fund in Latin America (FOGAL from french le fonds de garantie en Amérique latine). La Florida is a cooperative of coffee producers in Peru and CEPESIU is a microfinance institution in Ecuador. FOGAL’s aim is to give farmers in Latin America access to the financial system.

2005

Inter Réseaux creation

SOS Faim created Inter Réseaux- Développement rural with other groups involved in the agricultural and rural development. It is an association which gives the opportunity to debate and exchange experiences about rural development. This association is now composed of 40 members including 20 European and African associations.

2006

Creation of the European Microfinance Platform

With the International Year of microfinance in 2006, SOS Faim created the European Microfinance Platform in association with NGOs, banks, universities and research centres. Today, this platform consists of 137 members from 25 countries.

2009

Launch of a structured advocacy with farmers’ organisations

The first steps for a common and structured advocacy with 6 Western African farmers platform (Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo) took shape by attending the ACP- EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly. This advocacy, initiated with the CFSI and Vredeseilanden, went on with regular meetings and issues presented to the ACP European and African parliamentarians.

2010

Participation in the Alliance AgriCongo

SOS Faim took part in the creation of a coalition to support agriculture in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Composed of 10 organisations, the alliance coordinates the support given from Belgian organisations to the Congolese farmer movement. It also tries to find additional funds to those of the alliance’s members.

2012

On ne joue pas avec la nourriture

At the beginning of 2012, SOS Faim launched a public campaign “On ne joue pas avec la nourriture” to tackle financial speculation on agricultural commodities.

In 2013, the campaign entered a new phase. Indeed, SOS Faim and other NGOs financed a study denouncing the role of Belgian banks in financial speculation on agricultural raw materials. And citizens, as clients of these banks, are invited to write to their banks.

 

2014

50 Year Anniversary

2014 is an important year for SOS Faim. Not only does it celebrate its 50th anniversary, but 2014 was also declared the International Year of Family Farming, that represents the essential action of SOS Faim. On that occasion, the NGO organised an international forum dedicated to the transformation of family farms. Four Western African farmer federations shared their experiences.

Historique

1964

Naissance de SOS FAIM

Le 27 novembre 1964, plusieurs ONG belges* ont créé le Comité Belge pour la Campagne contre la Faim (CBCF) qui, quelques mois plus tard, prenait le nom de SOS Faim. SOS Faim fut donc la première coupole pluraliste en Belgique, mise en place afin de répondre à l’appel des Nations Unies pour lutter contre la faim dans le monde. Cet appel s’inscrivait dans un contexte de lourdes famines dans différents pays d’Afrique.

* Entraide et Fraternité, le Corps européen des volontaires pour la paix, Entraide Socialiste, Coopération Technique Internationale (ITECO), les Compagnons Bâtisseurs, Groupement Social Féminin Libéral, Ieder voor Allen, Service Civil International (SCI), UCOD (University Clearing Office for the Developing Countries)

1966

Création du CNCD

Avec d’autres associations belges, SOS Faim crée en avril 1966 le CNCD, Centre national de coopération au développement, plus connu de nos jours en tant qu’organisation coupole de la campagne 11.11.11.

L’objectif de cette coupole, regroupant plusieurs jeunes associations et ONG belges, était d’améliorer la qualité des relations entre le Nord et le Sud et promouvoir les synergies entre les différents acteurs du mouvement associatif en Belgique.

Aujourd’hui le CNCD regroupe plus de 90 associations et ONG de développement francophones et germanophones. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site du CNCD.

1983

Changement de statut

SOS Faim/SOS Honger, jusque là ONG unitaire au niveau national, se scinde en deux associations distinctes : SOS Faim/SOS Hunger pour la partie francophone et germanophone et SOS Honger pour la partie néerlandophone.

1987

Soutien à la microfinance

En 1987, SOS Faim fut la première ONG belge et une des premières au niveau européen à soutenir la microfinance afin de permettre aux paysans marginalisés de développer une activité économique et, de cette manière, de sortir de la pauvreté. Actuellement, SOS Faim soutient 11 institutions de microfinance ou réseaux d’IMF, qui desservent en tout 600 000 agriculteurs d’Afrique et d’Amérique latine.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre page dédiée à la microfinance.

1991

Premier numéro de Défis Sud

Depuis 1991, SOS Faim publie 6 numéros par an de Défis Sud, la revue spécialiste des enjeux de développement rural qui donne la parole aux acteurs du Sud sur les aspects économiques, sociaux et politiques de l’agriculture dans leurs pays.

Découvrez les différents numéros de Défis Sud et abonnez-vous au magazine.

1992

Élargissement

En 1992, SOS Faim a décidé d’ouvrir son Assemblée générale à des représentants du monde associatif et de la société civile des pays du Sud. Ce sera une étape importante vers une approche « d’appui aux partenaires », où les bénéficiaires du Sud, devenus « partenaires », conçoivent leur propre développement.

1993

SOS Faim prend de l’ampleur

SOS Faim a encouragé et soutenu la démarche de Luxembourgeois souhaitant créer une association partageant les mêmes valeurs et s’y est associée, SOS Faim Luxembourg a donc vu le jour en 1993. Même si la coopération au développement était en plein boom au Luxembourg à cette époque-là, aucune ONG ne se démarquait par un intérêt pour la microfinance ou par l’appui aux organisations paysannes.

Découvrez le site de SOS Faim Luxembourg.

1996

Recentrage

SOS Faim soutenait déjà depuis longtemps le développement rural mais, en 1996, les thématiques agricoles et rurales sont devenues les priorités de SOS Faim et sont toujours, au jour d’aujourd’hui, au cœur de notre action. Ce recentrage s’accompagna d’une concentration géographique nette.

1998

Couleur Lomé

Première campagne de plaidoyer de SOS Faim !

Dans le cadre de la renégociation des relations entre l’Union européenne (UE) et les pays d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique (ACP), qui étaient régies par l’ « Accord de Lomé », SOS Faim rassemble ses partenaires, au Cameroun et ensuite à Bruxelles, afin de les sensibiliser aux enjeux pour les producteurs agricoles de cette renégociation.

« Il faut sortir Lomé de la clandestinité ! » sera le maitre-mot des organisations paysannes dans leurs contacts avec les autorités européennes à la suite de ces rencontres. Ces relations font, depuis cette campagne, l’objet d’une attention appuyée de la part des organisations paysannes.

2000

Deux nouvelles publications

En 2000, SOS Faim lance deux publications : Zoom microfinance et Dynamiques paysannes.

Zoom microfinance a pour objectif de partir d’une expérience concrète pour poser des questions de fond et ouvrir les débats sur l’impact de la microfinance sur le développement du Sud.

Dynamiques paysannes met en avant les initiatives prises par les organisations paysannes dans le cadre de leurs diverses fonctions, les analyse et en tire des réflexions.

2002

Création de la Coalition contre la faim

SOS Faim prend une part active à la création d’une coalition destinée à regrouper l’ensemble des ONG belges travaillant dans le soutien à l’agriculture et aux organisations paysannes du Sud. Cette coalition, constituée actuellement de 19 organisations, promeut en Belgique un appui à l’agriculture familiale durable et une reconnaissance des organisations paysannes en tant qu’acteurs incontournables de la définition des politiques agricoles, de leur mise en œuvre et de leur évaluation.

La Coalition a été aussi très active dans la diffusion d’une mise en application du principe de la « cohérence des politiques pour le développement », notamment concernant l’appui à l’agriculture dans le Sud.

En savoir plus sur la Coalition contre la faim.

2004

Mon poulet, ma poule

Mon poulet, ma poule

En 2003, l’Europe a exporté plus de 182 000 tonnes de poulets congelés à prix bradés vers l’Afrique. Suite à ces importations massives, des centaines de milliers de producteurs africains ont perdu leur emploi et se sont retrouvés sans ressources.

En 2004, SOS Faim a relayé avec d’autres partenaires européens la campagne « mon poulet, ma poule » pour lutter contre ces importations à bas prix. Au total 62 484 pétitions ont été signées, dont 11 000 rien qu’en Belgique.

En savoir plus sur cette campagne.

Création du FOGAL

Création du FOGAL

En 2004, SOS Faim fonde le FOGAL (Fonds de garantie en Amérique latine) avec deux autres associations : la Florida, coopérative de producteurs de café au Pérou et CEPESIU, institution de microfinance en Équateur. L’objectif du FOGAL est de permettre aux producteurs agricoles d’Amérique latine d’avoir accès au système financier.

2005

Création d’Inter Réseaux

Avec d’autres acteurs spécialisés dans le développement rural et agricole, SOS Faim crée Inter Réseaux – Développement rural, une structure associative dont l’objet social est d’être un lieu de débats et d’échanges d’expérience en matière de développement rural.

Actuellement, cette association est composée de 40 membres dont 20 associations européennes et africaines

2006

Création de la plateforme européenne de microfinance

Suite à l’Année internationale de microfinance, SOS Faim fonde en 2006 la plateforme européenne de microfinance avec plusieurs acteurs européens tels que des ONG, des banques, des universités et des centres de recherche. Cette plateforme compte aujourd’hui 137 membres de 25 pays différents. 

2009

Lancement d’un plaidoyer structuré avec les organisations paysannes

Les premières démarches d’un plaidoyer commun et structuré avec 6 plateformes paysannes ouest-africaines (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Sénégal, Togo) se concrétisent par une participation à l’Assemblée parlementaire paritaire UE – ACP. Ce plaidoyer, engagé avec le CFSI et Vredeseilanden, se prolonge par des rencontres régulières et la construction de dossiers qui sont défendus face aux parlementaires ACP européens ou nationaux.

2010

SOS Faim participe à la création de l’Alliance AgriCongo

SOS Faim participe à la création d’une coalition d’ONG actives dans le soutien à l’agriculture en République Démocratique du Congo. Actuellement constituée de 10 organisations, l’Alliance coordonne les soutiens des organisations belges au mouvement paysan congolais et recherche des financements complémentaires aux contributions de chaque organisation membre.

2012

On ne joue pas avec la nourriture

Début 2012, SOS FAIM lançait sa campagne publique « On ne joue pas avec la nourriture » pour dénoncer et s’attaquer à la spéculation financière sur les matières premières agricoles.

En 2013, la campagne entre dans une nouvelle phase ; SOS Faim commandite, avec d’autres ONG, une étude dénonçant le rôle des banques en Belgique dans la spéculation financière sur les matières premières agricoles. Les citoyens sont invités en tant que clients de ces banques à les interpeller.

Pour en savoir plus, découvrez le site de la campagne.

2014

50 ans de SOS Faim

2014 est une année importante pour SOS Faim car, non seulement, elle fête ses 50 ans d’existence, mais 2014 est également proclamée Année Internationale de l’Agriculture Familiale, thématique étant au cœur de l’action de SOS Faim.

Pour célébrer ces deux grandes occasions, SOS Faim a organisé un colloque international ayant pour sujet la transformation des exploitations familiales lors duquel quatre fédérations paysannes d’Afrique de l’Ouest ont partagé leurs expériences.